I’ve said it before…

and I’ll say it again. The most important thing anyone who wants to work in children’s books (as author, as illustrator, as editor, as marketer, as bookseller, etc.) can do is read.

I blogged about it here.

I answered a question about it when I guest blogged on Will Terry’s blog last week.

Josie Leavitt recently talked about it on the ShelfTalker blog. 

Last week, Publishers Weekly ran an article of “Best Advice” and at least two people mention it (besides me, that is).

It’s not a coincidence that so many successful authors are former teachers and librarians.

Tomorrow is Read Across America Day. This is officially in celebration of Dr. Seuss’ birthday and aimed at kids in the classroom. But I think we can all take as a reminder to keep reading ourselves…even when we sometimes feel that others things on our desks should take precedence.

So, go for it….get out there and READ!

I’ve said it before…