The Anderson’s Bookshops Young Adult Conference

We are very excited about the 8th Annual Anderson’s Bookshops Young Adult conference on September 24 — and not just because we love YA.  Anna Perera, author of Guantanamo Boy, will be the featured luncheon speaker!  In our excitement, we want to share the wonderful history of this conference with you. Becky Anderson of Anderson’s Bookshops has provided us with a detailed rundown of the authors who have appeared at the conference over the years.

Our attendance has grown every year and so have the number of authors-we started with 4 and now average 20-24 authors per conference.  We feature local YA authors at every conference.  Several Breakout sessions opportunities are scheduled throughout the day.  Educators can earn 7 CPDU credits for attending. 

Year 1: We started I believe with 4 authors:  David Levithan, Julie Ann Peters, Wendy Mass, Meg Cabot. 

Year 3:  Sharon Creech, Sarah Weeks, Avi, and Rachel Vail. Other featured authors included Alan Lawrence Sitomer, Jordan Sonnenblick, Laura Ruby, and Andy Behrens.

Year 4:  Sherman Alexi, Christopher Paul Curtis, Sonya Sones, Chris Crutcher, and Robert Sharenow.

Year 5:  Holly Black, Suzanne Collins, Caroline B. Cooney, Ellen Klages, John Stokes, and Nancy Werlin.

Year 7:  Alexandra Adornetto, Blue Balliett, Charles Benoit, Andrea Cremer, John Green, and Nancy Holder. Also featured were David Levithan, Kirsten Miller, Kenneth Oppel, Dana Reinhardt, Pam Munoz Ryan, Debbie Viguie, and Siobhan Vivian. Additional guest authors included: Antony John (Barnes), Simone Ekleles, Claudia Gray, Stephanie Hemphill, Sophie Jordan, Stacy Kade, Kody Keplinger, Jim Klise and Kiersten White.

THIS YEAR (Year 8):  Jacqueline Woodson, Paul Volponi, Torrey Maldonado, Paul Griffin, Coe Booth, Theodore Boone Bus Tour, Anna Perera, Lisa McMann, Mike Lupica, Sharon Draper & Patrick Carman. Authors include Ilsa Blick, Franny Billingslly, Jeanine Cummins, Jeanine Cummins, Julie Halpern, Jeff Hirsch, Michelle Hodkin, James Kennedy, Sarah Darer Littman, Colin Meloy, Carson Ellis, Elizabeth Miles, Elizabeth Scott, Kristina Springer and Bill Willingham.

Here is the schedule for this year’s conference: Young Adult Schedule 2011. You can also find more information on the Anderson’s website.

The Anderson’s Bookshops Young Adult Conference