“I like. I love it. I want to keep it.”

by Caity in Sales

My daughter and I sat down last week to read the new Mermaid Mysteries. She’s in first grade and loves books. She is learning to read and tries her best to read as much as she can and for as long as she can. The first title in the series is Rosa and the Water Pony. Rosa, along with her other mermaid friends, decides to enter the parade for the annual carnival. They turn a sea horse into a magical water pony and practice doing tricks on its back. Unfortunately, the sea horse goes missing before the carnival and it’s up to the mermaids to find him.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from my daughter in terms of a review. It took us two nights to complete the book – three chapters the first, and three chapters the next. I think that’s a good length for this age group. She’ll sit through longer books, (in fact, we had to put Charlotte’s Web to the side to read these) but getting to the end in only two nights is very satisfying for a 6-year-old. So after the first night, when I closed the book, she said, “I like. I love it. I want to keep it.”

The next night we finished up Rosa and the Water Pony and she had more to say, “I like the mermaids. I love it. I like how small the sea horse is. Do you think the library will have it?”  Being someone who loves books and who also works for a children’s book publisher, I have made the library our home away from home, so I smiled when she said that.

Then she followed up with, “That’s one of the presents I want for my birthday…” (which isn’t until next summer, mind you) “the whole series, even if I may not like it. I like the first one so I’ll probably like the other ones. So I may not get it from the library. I want to keep it. Buy it to keep.”

In Jasmine and the Treasure Chest, the mermaids hear a tale about a mermaid who fell in love with a human. This mermaid got jewels from the human which she stored in a treasure chest. On the night she was going to leave the mermaid world and become a human forever, she was lost at sea, never to be seen again. Supposedly, her treasure chest was still somewhere in the water. So the young mermaids, except Jasmine (who doesn’t believe the story) decide to search for the chest.

After finishing this story, I asked my daughter which one she liked best, but not surprising she said, “I like them both.” In this story, “I liked how Jasmine fooled them with all that seaweed on her head.” She also liked the underwater garden, “how they could climb in the shell and how the water fairy made them small.”

All in all, she felt this was a great series for girls her age. I know she’ll be hoping I bring home the next two books in the spring when they are published: Sula and the Singing
Shell
and Melody and the Sea Dragon.

“I like. I love it. I want to keep it.”