By Josalyn Moran

According to England’s Telegraph, Thursday, October 6 is National Dragonese Day—a literacy-promoting campaign headed by Cressida Cowell, the author of How To Train Your Dragon. The movie based on this title grossed $218 million in the United States and $495 million worldwide, so there must be  a lot of dragon fans out there.

I didn’t realize that I was one of those fans, too, until I started to list some of my favorite dragon books of all time.

My list includes:
My Father’s Dragon and others by Gannett
Puff the Magic Dragon by Yarrow and Lipton (maybe the best “song lyric made into a picture book” ever)
Dragonology and others by Drake
Dragon Rider by Funke
A Friend for Dragon and others by Pilkey
St. George and the Dragon illustrated by Hyman

Two upcoming titles I’ll be adding to my bookshelves (yes, I still want to own the “p-books”) are:
–the long-awaited fourth book in the “trilogy,” Inheritance by Christopher Paolini (Nov 8, 2011)
–a lovely Square Fish reissue of Dragons in the Waters by Madeleine L’Engle (December 6, 2011)

We’ll be publishing a stunning dragon picture book ourselves in Spring 2012 (How to Make Friends with a Dragon by Valerie Gorbachev).  I look forward to sharing more about it with you as we get closer to publication.  In the meantime, here’s the cover and remember: Never tickle a dragon’s nose!


We’ve celebrated How to Talk Like a Pirate Day . . . and Doodle Day . . . and Dr. Seuss’s Birthday as Read Across America Day, so why not celebrate dragons, too?

