#Fridayreads: Kiki’s book club gives us recommendations

Let’s take a trip to Kiki’s book club! Kiki, who always has a fun story to share, is Albert Whitman’s Purchasing Assistant. Take it away, Kiki!

I’m a part of a lovely book club. We catch up, have some coffee, and discuss a variety of genres of books. I’ve been a part of it for a number of years. It’s honestly one of the best parts of my week! Below I’ve listed several titles we’ve recently read as a group, as well as some books I intend to read with the book club.

51Kz4zmXqbL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing by Marie Kondo is an international bestseller with over 2 million copies sold since October 2014. I haven’t finished it quite yet, but here are some tips that especially resonated with me:

  • When you put your house in order, you put your affairs in order, too.
  • All you need to do is look at each item, one at a time, and decide whether or not to keep it and where to put it.
  • The key to success in tidying is to keep only those items that bring you joy. “Does this spark joy?”

If the answer to the above question is ‘no’ then you discard the item. I intend to employ the KonMari method during my spring clean this year. If used correctly, the KonMari method will make this my last attempt at tidying up. “By successfully concluding this once-in-a-lifetime task” all subsequent acts of tidying will only be putting items back to where they belong. She outlines a specific order to tidying and discarding. I am looking forward to my tidy house that she had me visualize in Chapter 2. Thanks Marie!

17402288

Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill was selected as one of the New York Times Book Review’s 10 Best Books of 2014. As a short read –less than 200 pages—it has a fragmented style that keeps the reader on her toes. It is about marriage & motherhood and the loneliness & the disappointment that comes with both. My book club had a lively discussion of this book. This is the perfect book to read twice, expect to pick up on themes and other passages not noticed the first time around.

amy-poehler-yes-please-book-cover

Yes Please by Amy Poehler was neither critically acclaimed nor on any ‘Best of’ lists. However, it had funny stories and felt, at points, real to me. A bit scattered, all in all it was a good book to escape to after a long day. The book was neither frivolous nor too serious. I definitely recommend this one.

BOOK Book Reviews 11514819042

The books I intend to read next are: The Martian, Deep Down Dark and Girl on the Train, which are the next three book club selections. My choice for the group was Girl on the Train since it kept popping up as a recommendation time and time again. We choose these three in particular so we can read ahead or get on the looong waiting list at the Chicago Public Library (101st on the waiting list of Deep, Down Dark).

#Fridayreads: Kiki’s book club gives us recommendations

One thought on “#Fridayreads: Kiki’s book club gives us recommendations

  1. Carrie Wilmont says:

    Aren’t book clubs the best! It’s a perfect way to decompress, especially if you have a busy life! I love that you have the freedom to check out so many new books out there and then sit and chat with friends about it. If you haven’t yet, you should look in to “Holy Fool, Holy Father” by Nicholas A. Marziani Jr., http://www.holyfoolholyfatherthenovel.com/. Thanks so much for these book ideas!

Comments are closed.